Internet ‘censership’

The internet is truly amazing. First off, thanks to eric for commenting on the Art at Home post about how to use the hand censer. Shortly after I published that post, I took my chances with a Google search, thinking I’d probably find some web page or another with a mention of it. But low and behold, there was a You Tube video!

I sense…that it would be great if there were Catholic tutorials similar to this all over You Tube. I’m not good with video, so I’ll stick with the blog. But could you imagine if there were instructional videos on Gregorian chant on You Tube? Who knows, maybe there are. Perhaps I’ll do some searching.

This video was very helpful, but just as my meal doesn’t turn out quite like those on Giada’s Everyday Italian, I’m still not getting as much smoke as the video shows. Perhaps I do need more ventilation like the commenter suggested. As to the traditional use of the hand censer in Eastern Catholic and Orthodox churches, here’s what the font of not so hagia sophia (Wikipedia) has to say:

The faithful will often burn incense, using a hand censer, in the home during Morning and Evening Prayers, and it is not unusual for the head of the household to bless the Holy Icons and all of the members of the household with a hand censer.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

